Strigiformes in the Best of the Web Directory


Top / Science / Biology / Plants and Animals / Animalia / Chordata / Aves / Strigiformes

The Order Strigiformes contains all of the Owls, the nocturnal Raptors. Two Families are recognized: Tytonidae (Barn Owls) and Strigidae (Typical Owls).

Within these two groups are approximately 27 genera and over 200 species.
  • Birdnet: Avian Orders: Strigiformes

    A list of the common and scientific names of species in the order Strigiformes, or owls. Grouped by the two families, Tytonidae or barn owls, and Strigidae or typical owls.

  • Order Strigiformes (Owls)

    Discusses taxonomy, physical characteristics, diet and hunting, reproduction, classification, threats, and conservation.

See Also:
Submit a site to this category