Ciconiiformes in the Best of the Web Directory


Top / Science / Biology / Plants and Animals / Animalia / Chordata / Aves / Ciconiiformes

Ciconiiformes is the Order of colonial-nesting water birds that includes Bitterns, Egrets, Herons, Storks, Spoonbills, and Ibises.

Commonly known as Wading Birds, they nest and feed near fresh water. (Related species, known as Seabirds, spend most of their time at sea.)

(In some sources, this group has been updated to include New World Vultures, due to a perceived taxonomic similarity to Storks.)

  • Birdnet: Ciconiiformes

    Comprehensive species list with both common and scientific names for the 127 species, grouped by the six families.

  • The Ciconiiformes

    Looks at characteristics of the Order, as well as features of various families and their species. Contains note about recent taxonomic changes.

See Also:
Submit a site to this category