Company Logo

Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

Verified by BOTW
Company Logo

About Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

Showcasing the latest Mazda models and a great selection of quality preowned vehicles, Koons Mazda of Silver Spring is a professional dealership with all of your auto needs under one roof.

Location & Directions for Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

3111 Automobile Blvd, Silver Spring, MD 20904
Get Directions

Services Koons Mazda of Silver Spring Offers

Auto financing options
New vehicle sales
Used vehicles sales
Auto servicing
Fleet sales
Car finder tool

  • Car Dealership
2.4 Out of 5.0

Reviews For Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

Reviews for this business have been aggregated from multiple sources.

Based on 10 Reviews

Add Review
Isabella Kirabo
Review source: Google Isabella Kirabo Saturday, November 6th 2021
I walked into Koons Mazda of Silver Spring looking for a car; I got a car and a brother. I went looking for a car at Koons about a month ago. I wanted to purchase my first car and I had no one to go with cos I had been told to go with a man but all the men in my life were busy that day and I was done waiting for them. I arrived at the dealership alone, much later than my planned time. The car I wanted was gone but the sales person I met Timbo was willing to show me others cos I was determined to go home with a car that day.

When I walked into the dealership I was ignorant about some car issues but he was very patient with me. We test drove about 4 cars including the one I ended up purchasing. He patiently explained the specs; Allowed me to use his computer to get some paperwork I hadn't printed. I was quite concerned about financing but he kept assuring and encouraging me that I would get it - which I did.

When I finally got the car, it was a missing inspection and they gave me a rental. It was the same make but newer model and much more expensive Mazda 3 2019. I purchased a 2014. Once again he had more faith in me to handle it well which I did until he dropped off mine 2 days later. He said i could call him any time incase i had questions or concerns.

Two weeks later I took him up on that offer. The Progressive Snapshot plugin device drained my battery and I needed a jumpstart. I called Timbo first cos I didn't know why my car wasn't starting. He guided me through different procedures on the phone before he diagnosed a dead battery. Then advised me to call my insurance. On calling Progressive I was made aware that I had no road side assistance on my over $300 policy. I wasn't amused. I called Timbo once again and he got his personal insurance guys to help me. He has been such a great help and guardian angel on this new car ownership journey. I ask him about the smallest of things that I don't know or understand and he always comes through. He has great knowledge about the cars; is such a good listener and gives great advice.

Koons Mazda is lucky to have Timbo and I will definitely recommend any other person I know buying a new car to you guys.
Curtis Kelly
Review source: Google Curtis Kelly Friday, November 5th 2021
The customer service here is so bad the ppl in accounting having contacted me about my tags and when I got someone on the phone they told me I have to pay more taxes in order to get my tags after putting down over $19k for a down payment and now I have to give them another $1350 in order to get my tags which I should have gotten 2 months ago.If I cannot get my tags by next week I would like to get a refund on my down payment money. I advise if you buy here make sure whoever owns the dealership is present.
Re: The customer service here ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Friday, November 5th 2021

Mr. Curtis, Thank you for your comments. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do everything we can to provide all our customers with nothing less than an excellent experience. Tag and title work does not even begin until after all money due has been satisfied. Your tags were delayed because you still owed money towards the down payment, which was recently settled after legal action. Your plates have been processed and you can either pick them up or we are happy to send them via UPS. Please call Carol Hakopian, our Customer Relations Director, if you'd like to discuss this matter further. Thank you.

Dawn L.
Review source: Google Dawn L. Tuesday, November 2nd 2021
This review is long overdue. I thought I put my review here but had it elsewhere.

A couple of years ago on Father's Day, my gift to my husband was for him to watch sports on TV to his heart's content and that I go car shopping without him. (Sports, snacks, and the wife gone all was a gift, lol.)

I had a migraine but needed a car. My car-savvy son told me to get a Mazda CX-5 since I wanted a safe but nice car that took regular gas and had awesome ratings. He went with me to do the initial search at Koon's as I had already conversed with my Sales Agent, Greg Ellison, from the Costco Car program. (I Googled him before hand, as well, and he had great reviews. I now know why.)

He was very personable and knew/knows his cars. I thought I'd buy a newer used car but my last experience (used BMW X3 soured me a bit -- thousands of $$$ I put into that car, even with a warranty).

Greg showed me different models used, then new, and my son was right -- the CX-5 was the size I needed. Greg showed me a beautiful used car in the color I wanted that had everything on it...but there was a new car on the lot that had most of what I wanted, so we compared prices and options. The new car wasn't much more (as I couldn't go option-crazy) and had the upgrades that I was most interested in (Bose speakers, sun roof, heated seats, electric seats on the driver's side -- and AWD). It uses regular gas!!! Yes! No more required premium! The color was nice and my son's fav so I went new. It was meant for me.

Mazdas have fantastic reviews in Car and Driver, and many consumer safety awards. I made a very good decision and I thank Greg for getting me there. He didn't oversell. Koons has the no haggling policy (main reason I choose that dealership besides being closer to home). So Greg sat down and went over a lot of ways to come up with a plan that would work for me. All my choice.

While my car was sent to be cleaned up, I went over and spent time with the financial guy. Everything is electronic on a huge desk sized was wild.

He found a decent car loan and showed h
me all of the different banks and loans pulled up so there was transparency.

Overall, it was a long day with a bad headache, but the process was as good as a cure...I was, and am, impressed.

I've been back several times for my oil changes and such, and pleased how efficient the service dept is run. They have a nice waiting room with cold water bottles and a coffee machine that has many coffee options and it grinds the beans fresh! They have places to sit with your laptop with outlets. (They've thought of everything but an omelet station.)

Since covid, they space out the people coming in so the waiting room is not crowded.

I know this is a long review, but it is well deserved. If you got this far, tell Greg Ellison you saw my review if you go for a new car...I only get satisfaction (no rewards, this is not a paid review), especially if you go through the Costco Car program. Be aware: other salesperson/s may see the initial dealership email from Costco and will no doubt contact you. Tell them you are on the program and the dealership and salesperson you've chosen (if you had done so like me), as I had another salesperson contact me from Koons who wasn't on the Costco list and was gracious about my choice, but other dealerships came through, as well. Good to know you have a choice.
Re: This review is long overd ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Friday, November 5th 2021

Dawn, thank you so much for this great review! Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do everything we can to make our customers happy. Happy to hear the Costo program is worked out for you. Thanks again and please let us know if you need anything else. Stay well!

Mike Hill
Review source: Google Mike Hill Wednesday, October 13th 2021
Website was so bad I am not even bothering with this dealer. Too many pop-ups and ZERO inventory of Miata's.
Paige Johnson
Review source: Google Paige Johnson Friday, October 8th 2021
The manager refused to negotiate on an overpriced SUV which is now considered a LEMON in which we are 1 year out of Maryland's legal statute to file a complaint. The manager was fired not even a month after treating us like complete garbage. I will never do business with Koons Mazda again and neither will my family or friends in Silver Spring.
Re: The manager refused to ne ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Friday, October 22nd 2021

Paige, thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you are having concerns with your vehicle. The vehicle you purchased had never been worked on in our shop and it had 59K miles, at time of purchase. To our understanding your vehicle was repaired under our Total Confidence Warranty Protection Plan at another shop. If you have any other concerns please feel free to give us a call. Thank you and safe travels.

Yel Yel
Review source: Google Yel Yel Tuesday, October 5th 2021
The worst place to experience buying car , they literally hold you hostage if things not going their way, oh specially fancied they discriminated you by looking at you worst experience ever, I have to call a police to get my license back oh God
Re: The worst place to experi ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Thursday, October 7th 2021

We are so sorry to hear we were unable to help you with the purchase of a new Mazda CX5. We are often faced with circumstances that are completely out of our control, and unfortunately, we can't always assist our customer with their desired type of car. We do everything we can by offering other options that may be more budget friendly, but regretfully, even that doesn't always work. When working with financing, we are at the mercy of the banks and we would never discriminate or intentionally make our guests feel as if they are being judged. Our goal is to help, and that's it. We apologize if it took us longer than expected to return the title to your car or any other documents but sometimes things get lost in all the papers required to work a deal. Thank you for your comments and if you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact our Customer Relations Director, Carol Hakopian. Thank you.

Vivian Crayton-Johnson
Review source: Google Vivian Crayton-Johnson Tuesday, August 31st 2021
Shady scammers. I went in for a headlight repair to my 2009 Mazda 5. That first day was a warning I ignored. The person I spoke to at the Mazda service counter, Isaiah, told me I was supposed to be across the lot at the Ford service department. I walked over there and the person assigned told me he doesn't work on Mazdas and sent me back to the Isaiah. They looked at my car and had to order a part. For some reason I was charged for the part/service in advance, but the guy said he'd call when the part came in, no biggie. He said it would only take ten minutes to swap the parts out, so it would be easy to schedule an appointment to come back for that to happen.

Nobody ever called me to let me know the part was in or to schedule an appointment. I called them three days after I was told the part would arrive, thinking maybe it was delayed. The phone was answered by a gentleman named Alex, who put me through to the person who originally helped me, Isaiah. I left Isaiah a voicemail explaining that I want to check on the status and need to set up an appointment to have the part installed that I ALREADY PAID FOR.

Isaiah didn't call back. Three hours later, I called and asked to speak to a service supervisor. The extremely nice lady I spoke to had trouble finding someone to help me, but finally transferred me to Alex. Alex said my part was there. I asked why I hadn't been informed, and he said it was on Isaiah to call me.

He then transferred me to Isaiah's extension to set up an appointment. Isaiah didn't answer. This time I wasn't even given a voicemail option. The phone literally rang for ten minutes without being picked up. Why the hell couldn't someone else set up the appointment? Why does the buck get passed when things are missed? Why is nobody there answering their phones?

I honestly would have been FINE with this if someone had just said, "Sorry. We should have called you. Let's set up an appointment now."

Apparently, Koons scams customers into paying for parts/service they have no intention of delivering. I am calling my bank to file a grievance to have my money returned.

Stay far, far, far away from this service department.
Re: Shady scammers. I went in ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Saturday, September 18th 2021

Vivian, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are in the business of providing our customers with nothing less than an exceptional experience and would never take without following through on our commitments. We are working on streamlining our phone system and, in the process, we are discovering from our customers that some things still need attention. We have also been extremely short staffed and hope we'll be fully staffed in the weeks ahead. Please call our customer relations director, Carol Hakopian, Mon - Fri, between 730a-430p and she will certainly work on getting this resolved. Her direct number is 301-890-8109. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Review source: Google adforth Tuesday, August 24th 2021
Unfortunate experience. From the beginning the sales manager who was supposed to provide me with quotes over the phone took more than two weeks, two different times to get back to me. Once I purchased the car, I had to wait for it to get to the dealership which is not a problem; however, the car arrived 5 days later than expected and I received few if any updates from the dealership during the three weeks I waited. Overall poor customer experience, poorly set expectations in terms of wait times, and sparse communication. I doubt I will do business with this dealership again
Re: Unfortunate experience. F ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Tuesday, August 24th 2021

Adforth, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Providing an excellent customer experience is extremely important to us; and you are correct, full transparency and constant dialogue is part of the process. Please accept our apology for our lack of communication and for not properly providing updates regarding the status of your new car. Please call Carol Hakopian, our Customer Relations Director at 301.890.6100, if you'd like to discuss this matter further. Thanks again and stay safe.

Holly Falter
Review source: Google Holly Falter Monday, August 16th 2021
Our experience at Koons Mazda was great! We had Elijah as our salesperson and he was immensely helpful, kind, and patient with us as we navigated the whole process of buying a car. We had pretty strict requirements in the car we wanted and he was more than willing to help us find what we were looking for. And we did find a car that matched all our requirements!! He, along with the business representative Vanny, were really great and easy to work with. They made the process so much smoother. I would definitely recommend checking this place out if you are looking for used cars. They are more than willing to help you find something that suits your financial and personal needs. So happy I went with them for my first car.
Re: Our experience at Koons M ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Monday, August 16th 2021

Holly, congrats, that's so exciting! We're so happy to hear Elijah and our Mazda team was able to find the perfect car with all your requirements. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and let us know if there is anything else we can do to help. Stay safe!

Joel Dulaigh
Review source: Google Joel Dulaigh Wednesday, August 4th 2021
Came back 5 months later to change my rating. Make sure you keep your paperwork and watch your back. Once we were off the lot, horrible service. I have had issues with the pre-paid maintenance plan we purchased. We now live in a different state and what is in the computer system at Ford is NOT what we paid for. I have left more messages than I can count with no return calls. And I seem to recall them saying when I bought the vehicle they had addressed any recalls. When I took it in for the first oil change a real dealer checked and there were 5 recalls to address. Somehow I'm not buying that Koons really checked, especially after the poor service I have recieved since the purchase. Maybe after this post they will call me back.
Re: Came back 5 months later ... Koons Mazda of Silver Spring replied on Monday, March 15th 2021

Joel, congrats on the new BAT mobile! We are happy to hear George too excellent care of you. Thank you for the great review and safe driving!

Rate us and Write a Review

More About Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

If you're looking for a new Mazda, make Koons Mazda of Silver Spring your first choice. Our showroom hosts the very latest models, including the Mazda CX-5, Mazda6, Mazda Miata, Mazda CX-7, and more. We're proud to have served hundreds of satisfied customers from Columbia MD, Arlington VA, Marlow Heights, and Rockville, with our excellent sales staff having a reputation for providing sound, no-pressure advice.

In addition to our new vehicles, we also have an ever changing inventory of quality assured used vehicles. Rest assured that you can buy with complete confidence, as all used vehicles have passed stringent tests and come with the kinds of guarantees you would expect from a professional dealership. When it comes to auto finance, we can help there too - talk to our knowledgeable staff about the best rates and deals for your circumstances.